Institutes, professorships and teaching areas

The Institute for Architectural Design, Art and Theory (ekut) combines six professorships and two teaching areas. The institute's work focuses on an interdisciplinary approach to concept-oriented architecture. Architectural design is taught in its entire breadth, from the initial conception of ideas to detailed planning; it is embedded in the continuous reflection on the humanities and social science foundations of architecture and the city, their relationship to the fine arts, and their mediation into society and public discourse.

Institut Entwerfen und Bautechnik

Designing and constructing is an elusive process. This can be seen in the almost unlimited number and complexity of the fields of expertise and knowledge involved, as well as in the mixture of rational and intuitive decision-making processes. The study of architecture at KIT is based on the principle of project-oriented teaching. In doing so, several strands of action always overlap as they come from different levels of observation. On the one hand, we have the operational and utilization aspects and, on the other hand, the technical-constructive perspective. In the course of the design process, the different aspects appear again and again and they interfuse, each having its own effect.

Read more ...

In the Institute of Design and Construction Engineering (IEB), all aspects are represented by eight subject areas listed below. Thus, the technical structure of the institute stands for the complex interrelationships in the construction industry. The planning components, which are represented by the individual subject areas and teaching areas, networked into an integrated unit, corresponding to a construction project. The focus is on the holistic view of architecture with a strong connection to the real construction process.

When designing architecture, concrete formal and functional requirements must be met and placed in a spatial context. The question of whether this is done in an appropriate manner, i.e. in the broadest sense, can withstand criteria of overall economic efficiency, is an essential part of the architectural debate. This approach requires a conscious approach to ecological conditions, the necessary resources and thus the indoor climate and room exposure, the energy balance and building materials and products. The contents always include the static-constructive discussion as well as the observance of planning, construction and usage processes, which ensure a sustainable system life cycle. Last but not least, the question of the value of the existing building structure, the reinterpretation and adequacy is asked during construction in the existing building.

The teaching at the Institute of Design and Construction Technology combines intuition and rationality in the architectural design process.

Institut Entwerfen von Stadt und Landschaft

Institute for Urban and Landscape DesignThe examination of the urban context and its design is an integral part of Karlsruhe's architectural education. This is dealt with in urban development projects as well as in building designs. In the future, building in an existing urban environment will become an increasingly important part of the professional practice of architects.

Read more ...

The bachelor's program concentrates on Urban and Landscape Design for one semester. Here, the basic specialist knowledge and design tools are conveyed in lectures, seminars, and drafts. In the master's program, dealing with urban design is important for all students. In addition, the opportunity for a more in-depth study of urban planning is offered. This is understood as being a specific extension of the architectural education, which combines spatial thinking and design with conceptual urban and regional planning as well as technical, legal, economic, and organizational skills. This creates the prerequisites for strategic thinking as well as design processes and for dealing with complex urban spaces.

An outstanding feature of the Karlsruhe university education on offer is its international network. On the one hand, the training deals with topics from Baden-Wuerttemberg and Germany and, on the other hand, looks beyond the borders: to the neighbouring countries along the Rhine, especially France, Switzerland, Belgium and the Netherlands, to the USA, Australia, Latin America, Africa and Asia. The institute's collaborations offer an insight into current issues of international urbanization. Guest lectures, stays abroad, workshops and research projects broaden the students’ professional horizon.

Institut Kunst- und Baugeschichte

International Guest Professorship

  • Winter term 2019/20: Hisham Elkadi

Former subjects and teaching fields

english  | Home | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT
Institut Entwerfen, Kunst und Theorie

Geschäftsführender Direktor (Sprecher):
Prof. Meinrad Morger

Stellvertreter des Geschäftsführenden Direktors:
Prof. Stephen Craig

Allgemeine Anlaufstelle des Instituts:
Sekretariat Renate Dogendorf
Tel: 0721-608 42162

Institut Entwerfen und Bautechnik

Geschäftsführender Direktor (Sprecher):
Prof. Matthias Pfeifer

Stellvertreter des Geschäftsführenden Direktors: N.N.

Allgemeine Anlaufstelle des Instituts:
Sekretariat Christina Szautner

Tel: 0721-608 42183

Institut Entwerfen von Stadt und Landschaft

Geschäftsführender Direktorin (Sprecher):
Prof. Barbara Engel

Stellvertreter des Geschäftsführenden Direktors: N.N

Sekretariat:
Britta.Henke-Dettling

Tel: 0721-608 42171

Institut Kunst-und Baugeschichte

Geschäftsführender Direktor:
Prof. Dr. Oliver Jehle

Stellvertreter des Geschäftsführenden Direktors:
N.N.


Fakultät für Architektur

Dekanat

Englerstr. 7, Geb. 20.40 
Raum 135
D-76131 Karlsruhe
Tel.: > Ansprechpersonen
Fax.: +49 721 608-46090
E-Mail: dekanatWkx9∂arch kit edu

Öffnungszeiten:
Mo-Fr, 9:00-12:00 Uhr

 

Institute, Fach- und Lehrgebiete

Institut Entwerfen, Kunst und Theorie

Das Institut für Entwerfen, Kunst und Theorie (ekut) vereint sechs Fach– und zwei Lehrgebiete. Im Zentrum der Institutsarbeit steht die interdisziplinäre Annäherung an eine konzeptorientierte Architektur. Das architektonische Entwerfen wird in seiner ganzen Breite von der ersten Ideenfindung bis zur Detailplanung gelehrt; es ist eingebettet in die kontinuierliche Reflexion der geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Grundlagen von Architektur und Stadt, ihrer Bezüge zur bildenden Kunst und ihrer Vermittlung in die Gesellschaft und den öffentlichen Diskurs.

Institut Entwerfen und Bautechnik

Entwerfen und Konstruieren ist ein schwer zu fassender Vorgang. Dies zeigt sich in der kaum einzugrenzenden Zahl und Komplexität der tangierten Fach- und Wissensgebiete, wie auch in der Vermengung rationaler und intuitiver Entscheidungsprozesse. Das Architekturstudium am KIT fußt auf dem Prinzip der projektorientierten Lehre. Dabei überlagern sich aus verschiedenen Betrachtungsebenen heraus stets mehrere Handlungsstränge. Zum einen betriebliche und Nutzungsaspekte, zum anderen die technisch-konstruktive Perspektive. Die verschiedenen Gesichtspunkte tauchen im Verlauf des Entwerfens immer wieder auf und durchdringen sich mit unterschiedlichen Gewichtungen.

Weiterlesen ...

Im Institut Entwerfen und Bautechnik (IEB) werden alle Aspekte durch unten aufgeführte acht Fachgebiete repräsentiert. Damit steht die fachliche Aufstellung des Institutes für die komplexen Zusammenhänge im Bauwesen. Die Planungskomponenten, die von den einzelnen Fach- und Lehrgebieten repräsentiert werden, vernetzten sich zu einer integrierten Einheit, entsprechend einem Bauprojekt. Der Focus liegt auf der ganzheitlichen Betrachtung von Architektur mit starkem Bezug zum realen Baugeschehen.

Beim Entwerfen von Architektur müssen konkrete formale und funktionale Anforderungen erfüllt und in einen räumlichen Zusammenhang gestellt werden. Die Frage, ob dies in angemessener Weise erfolgt, das heißt im weitesten Sinne Kriterien der Gesamtwirtschaftlichkeit standhält, ist ein wesentlicher Teil der architektonischen Auseinandersetzung. Dieser Ansatz erfordert den bewussten Umgang mit den ökologischen Bedingungen, den notwendigen Ressourcen und damit dem Raumklima und der Raumbelichtung, dem Energiehaushalt sowie den Baustoffen und -produkten. Die Inhalte umfassen immer auch die statisch-konstruktive Auseinandersetzung sowie die Beachtung von Planungs-, Bau- und Nutzungsprozessen, die einen nachhaltigen Systemlebenszyklus gewährleisten. Nicht zuletzt wird beim Bauen im Bestand die Frage nach dem Wert der bestehenden Bausubstanz, der Neuinterpretation und Angemessenheit gestellt.

Die Lehre am Institut Entwerfen und Bautechnik verbindet Intuition und Rationalität im architektonischen Entwurfsprozess.

Institut Entwerfen von Stadt und Landschaft

Die Auseinandersetzung mit dem urbanen Kontext und seine Gestaltung sind Bestandteil der Karlsruher Architektenausbildung. Dies wird sowohl in städtebaulichen Projekten als auch in Hochbauentwürfen bearbeitet. Bauen in einem bestehenden städtebaulichen Umfeld wird für Architekten in Zukunft immer stärker in den Vordergrund der Berufspraxis rücken.

Weiterlesen ...

Das Bachelorstudium konzentriert sich ein Semester lang auf das Entwerfen von Stadt und Landschaft. Hier werden die grundsätzliche Fachkenntnisse und Entwurfswerkzeuge in Vorlesungen, Seminaren und Entwürfen vermittelt. Auch im Masterstudium ist die Beschäftigung mit dem Städtebau für alle Studierenden von Bedeutung. Zudem wird die Möglichkeit zu einer städtebaulichen Vertiefung angeboten. Diese wird als eine spezifische Erweiterung der Architektenausbildung verstanden, die räumliches Denken und Gestalten mit konzeptionellen stadt- und regionalplanerischen sowie technischen, rechtlichen, ökonomischen und organisatorischen Fähigkeiten verbindet. Dies schafft die Voraussetzunge für strategisches Denken und Entwerfen sowie für den Umgang mit komplexen Stadträumen.

Herausragendes Merkmal der Karlsruher Ausbildung ist ihre internationale Vernetzung. Die Ausbildung bearbeitet einerseits Themen aus Baden-Württemberg und Deutschland und richtet andererseits den Blick über die Grenzen hinaus: in die Nachbarländer entlang des Rheins, vor allem nach Frankreich, in die Schweiz, nach Belgien und in die Niederlande, in die USA, nach Australien, Lateinamerika, Afrika und Asien. Die Kooperationen des Instituts bieten einen Einblick in aktuelle Fragen der internationalen Urbanisierung. Gastvorträge, Auslandsaufenthalte, Workshops und Forschungsprojekte erweitern den fachlichen Horizont.

Institut Kunst- und Baugeschichte

International Guest Professorship

  • Wintersemester 2018/19: Aljoša Dekleva (dekleva gregorič arhitekti, Ljubljana/SLO)